Nation Politics 26 Jan 2018 Congress leaders see ...

Congress leaders seek 6 TRS MLAs’ ouster

Published Jan 26, 2018, 1:05 am IST
Updated Jan 26, 2018, 1:05 am IST
Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao. (Photo: PTI)
 Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao. (Photo: PTI)

Hyderabad: Congress leaders on Thursday met Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan and sought disqualification of six TRS MLAs who were appointed parliamentary secretaries against constitutional provisions.

They submitted a formal petition to the Governor under Article 191 and 192 and requested him to refer the petition to the Election Commission and decide on the case once he obtains opinion from the poll panel.

Congress leader A. Revanth Reddy had earlier moved the President and the Election Commission in this regard. After obtaining legal opinion which stated that the petition should be submitted to the Governor seeking disqualification of the MLAs under the office of Profit Act, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Council Shabbir Ali and Mr Revanth Reddy went along with an advocate to Mr Narasimhan and formally submitted the petition.

Quoting various judgements and decisions in similar cases across the country including the recent decision by the President disqualifying 20 AAP MLAs, the petition sought removal of TRS MLAs D. Vinay Bhaskar, G. Kishore Kumar, Kova Laxmi, V. Srinivas Goud, V. Satish Kumar and Jalagam Venkata Rao for working as parliamentary secretaries.

Location: India, Telangana, Hyderabad


More From Politics