Women candidates in assembly race from Warangal, Karimnagar districts

WARANGAL/KARIMNAGAR: Erstwhile Warangal and Karimnagar districts have witnessed as many as 20 women candidates aspiring for assembly tickets from various parties.

In erstwhile Warangal, four women had been vying for the ruling BRS nomination – tribal welfare minister Sathyavathi Rathod from Dornakal, MP Maloth Kavitha from Mahabubabad, Mulugu zilla parishad (ZP) vice-chairperson Bade Nagajyothi from Mulugu and Warangal ZP chairperson Gandra Jyothi from Bhupalpally. Only Nagajyothi got the assembly ticket. She is expected to face the Congress party’s sitting MLA Danasari Anasuya (Seethakka) in case the latter is re-nominated by Congress as its candidate.

From the Congress party too, four women candidates are vying for tickets from erstwhile Warangal district, including sitting Mulugu MLA Seethakka, former minister Konda Surekha from Warangal East constituency, Hanumandla Jhansi Reddy from Palakurthy and Singarapu Indira from Station Ghanpur.

There are two women vying for the BJP ticket. Rao Padma from Warangal West and Chandupatla Keerthi Reddy from Bhupalpally.

From the erstwhile Karimnagar district, nine women had been competing for tickets from various parties.

Two women candidates from BRS, Jagtial ZP chairperson Dava Vasantha and Ramagundam ZPTC Kandula Sandhya Rani competed with sitting MLAs M. Sanjay Kumar (Jagtial) and K. Chander Patel (Ramagundam). Both women were disappointed when Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao re-nominated the sitting MLAs.

From the BJP, four women are in the race. Former MLA Bodiga Shoba from Choppadandi, former Karimnagar zilla parishad chairperson Tula Uma from Vemulawada, and Etala Jamuna, wife of former minister and BJP MLA Etala Rajendar from Huzurabad, in case the party leadership asks Rajendar to contest from another assembly segment in the state.

Karnakanti Manjula Reddy, who has a strong following among youth for her voluntary activities, hopes to get the BJP ticket from Husnabad constituency.

From Congress, two women candidates are vying for party tickets to contest from the Karimnagar assembly segment under women’s quota – women wing DCC president Sathya Prasanna Reddy and Kalvakuntla Ramya Rao.

In Peddapalli, social worker Dasari Uma is preparing to enter fray on the Bahujan Samajwadi Party ticket.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story