Nation Politics 25 Jan 2020 Telangana municipal ...

Telangana municipal polls results: TRS takes the lead

Published Jan 25, 2020, 1:10 pm IST
Updated Jan 25, 2020, 5:26 pm IST
The TRS appears to be continuing its dominance in this election as well
Twitter image
 Twitter image

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti is making a clean sweep of the elections to municipalities and municipal corporations in the state, with the latest tally showing them leading in eight of the nine municipal corporations and 84 of the 120 municipalities while leading in 30 others.

Wardwise, the ruling won or was leading in 1284 municipality seats statewide while the Congress was second with 413 seats and the BJP third with 187.


In the municipal corporation elections, the TRS was ahead with 62 wards compared to 14 for the Congress and 19 for the BJP.

As the results began to stream in, there was jubilation at the TRS HQ in Hyderabad.

Reacting to TRS win in the local body polls, Harish Rao said: "Telangana people have once again proved that the TRS is their choice for any election. TRS was the dominant force in the municipal elections. Congratulations to the Chief Minister KCR and Working President KTR."

In Bhainsa municipality, with it 26 wards, the situation is completely different. Of the 26, AIMIM has won 15 and the BJP has won 9 wards. Independent candidates won the remaining 2 wards. The TRS, which is making a splash in the remaining constituencies, could not win a single ward.


KTR said that the results of the municipal elections show that people have reposed their faith in CM KCR

Voting for the 120 municipalities and nine corporations was held on January 22.The TRS, which swept the rural local body elections in 2019, appears to be continuing its winning streak this time around too going by the trends. As per latest reports, TRS is leading in the 110 municipalities and nine municipal corporations.

The counting of votes for the Telangana municipal polls begun this morning at 8am. TRS returned to power in the assembly polls held in December 2018. In the Lok Sabha polls, the pink party won 11 of the 19 seats while failing to retain the Nizamabad assemnbly seat.


About 40 per cent of voters are said to have exercised their franchise in the municipalities while that of municipal corporations was 58.83.

Location: India, Telangana, Hyderabad