140th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra53560136843518306 Tamil Nadu3086492506805159 Andhra Pradesh2445491547492203 Karnataka1886111055993398 Delhi1461341316574131 Uttar Pradesh126722767212120 West Bengal98459671202059 Bihar8274154139450 Telangana8075157586637 Gujarat71064542382652 Assam5883842326145 Rajasthan5249738235789 Odisha4592731785321 Haryana4163534781483 Madhya Pradesh3902529020996 Kerala3433121832109 Jammu and Kashmir2489717003472 Punjab2390315319586 Jharkhand185168998177 Chhatisgarh12148880996 Uttarakhand96326134125 Goa871259575 Tripura6161417641 Puducherry5382320187 Manipur3752204411 Himachal Pradesh3371218114 Nagaland30119738 Arunachal Pradesh223115923 Chandigarh1595100425 Meghalaya11154986 Sikkim9105101 Mizoram6203230
Nation Politics 23 May 2019 17th Lok Sabha Elect ...

17th Lok Sabha Election, Tamil Nadu: DMK sweeps TN, AIADMK reduced to two seats

Published May 23, 2019, 10:03 pm IST
Updated May 23, 2019, 10:07 pm IST
In the assembly bypolls, the state witnessed a tough contest between the DMK and AIADMK.
DMK chief M K Stalin with Congress chief Rahul Gandhi (Photo: PTI)
 DMK chief M K Stalin with Congress chief Rahul Gandhi (Photo: PTI)

Chennai: The DMK won four Lok Sabha seats while its allies Congress and CPI bagged one each in the first results declared by the Election Commission in Tamil Nadu on Thursday.

According to the EC data, MDMK nominee A Ganeshamurthi, who contested on the 'Rising Sun' symbol of DMK, defeated AIADMK's G Manimaran by a margin of 2.10 lakh votes in Erode constituency.


DMK candidate and son of former minister Ponmudy, Gautham Sigamani Pon defeated senior DMDK leader L K Sutheesh by a whopping 3.99 lakh votes in Kallakurichi.

In Kancheepuram, DMK's G Selvam trounced AIADMK's K Maragatham by 2.86 lakh votes.

Former Union Minister and senior DMK leader A Raja emerged the winner in Nilgiris (reserved) constituency by defeating nearest rival M Thiyagarajan of AIADMK by 2.05 lakh votes.

Former Tamil Nadu Congress Committee President S Thirunavukkarasar was elected from Tiruchirappalli with a margin of 4.59 lakh votes, defeating DMDK's V Elangovan.


CPI Tiruppur candidate K Subbarayan won by a margin of 93,368 votes against AIADMK MSM Anandhan, the EC data said.

DMK candidate C N Annadurai defeated AIADMK leader and former Minister 'Agri' S S Krishnamurthy by 3.04 lakh votes in Tiruvannamalai segment.


Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analyses et all. Happy reading.

Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi