64th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra54758169541792 Tamil Nadu177289342128 Delhi152577264303 Gujarat148297139915 Rajasthan76804341172 Madhya Pradesh70243689305 Uttar Pradesh67243824177 West Bengal40091486283 Andhra Pradesh3117206558 Bihar300680014 Karnataka240576245 Punjab2106191840 Telangana1991128457 Jammu and Kashmir175983324 Odisha15937337 Haryana130582416 Kerala9645426 Assam683634 Jharkhand4261534 Uttarakhand400644 Chhatisgarh360790 Chandigarh2781874 Tripura2321650 Himachal Pradesh223634 Goa67280 Puducherry49170 Manipur3940 Meghalaya20121 Nagaland900 Arunachal Pradesh210 Mizoram110 Sikkim100
Nation Politics 23 Mar 2020 K V P Ramachandra Ra ...

K V P Ramachandra Rao retires from Rajya Sabha ‘with a heavy heart’

Published Mar 23, 2020, 9:24 pm IST
Updated Mar 23, 2020, 9:31 pm IST
Rajya Sabha sets aside politics to bid sentimental farewell to 57 retiring members from 20 states
Retiring Rajya Sabha MP KVP Ramachandra Rao said special status for Andhra Pradesh remains to be achieved. (DC Photo) Sabha on March 23, 2020. (PTI)
 Retiring Rajya Sabha MP KVP Ramachandra Rao said special status for Andhra Pradesh remains to be achieved. (DC Photo) Sabha on March 23, 2020. (PTI)

New Delhi: The Rajya Sabha on Monday bid farewell to 57 members, showering them with much sentimental praise.

Among the outgoing Rajya Sabha members are veteran NCP leader Sharad Pawar, who will retire between April and July, and the Congress member from Andhra Pradesh, K V P Ramachandra Rao.


Ramachandra Rao said in his farewell speech that he was going with a heavy heart as his dream of special category status for Andhra Pradesh has not yet been fulfilled.

Several others made similar wistful farewell speeches, such as AIADMK member Vijila Sathyananth, who demanded the Bharat Ratna for the late J Jayalalithaa.

One-third of the members of the Upper House retire every two years. These 57 Rajya Sabha MPs from 20 states will be retiring in the next three months. Some of them have been re-elected. A new crop of MPs will be elected on March 26 to replace the ones going home.

Besides Pawar, Union minister Ramdas Athawale (RPI-Athawale), Congress veteran Motilal Vora, former Union minister Vijay Goel (BJP) are among the key members retiring.

The others include Ramnarayan Dudi, Narayan Lal, Panchariya Mahant Shambhuprasadji Tundiya, Satyanarayan Jatiya and Prabhat Jha from the BJP, and Mohammad Ali Khan, B K Hariprasad from the Congress.

Bidding them farewell, Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu said the House will to miss them.

"Membership of Parliament in general and the Rajya Sabha in particular is an honour that which comes with a unique set of challenges that call for significant accountability towards the citizens of our country."

Leader of the opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad said Parliament is like a family with deep bonding among MPs whether from the treasury benches or the opposition.

"Politicians are permanently temporary," he said in good humour.

Location: India, Andhra Pradesh, Eluru