MP: Candidates' lists spark rebellion, protests in Congress, BJP

Congress office vandalised, Union minister heckled

Bhopal: The announcements of candidates for the November 17 assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh by Congress and BJP have sparked rebellion and violent protests by the workers of both parties in the state.

While Congress leaders and their supporters staged protests at several places in the state on Saturday for being denied party tickets, workers of BJP also held demonstrations at the party office here in protest against nomination of a particular candidate in an assembly constituency here.

The BJP workers mobbed Union minister Bhupendra Yadav, who is the election in-charge of the party for Madhya Pradesh, at the state party headquarters here in protest against candidature of Abhilash Pandey in North-Middle seat in Bhopal.

Mr Yadav’s security guard was heckled by them.

Congress leaders and their followers staged a violent demonstration at the state party headquarters here alleging nepotism in distribution of tickets and fielding of leaders who joined Congress from BJP a few days ago in the polls by the party.

They vandalised the party office and burnt the effigies of Congress veteran and former chief minister Digvijay Singh and his son Jaivardhan who is a sitting MLA, accusing them of giving tickets to their supporters without taking into account their winning prospects.

Several Congressmen also staged demonstrations in front of the official residence of Congress veteran and former chief minister Kamal Nath here alleging irregularity in distribution of party tickets in the polls.

Local party leaders along with their followers were seen staging protests at the local Congress offices at Jabra, Shujalpur, Burhanpur, Rewa, Semaria, Narmadapuram and Sibni for being denied tickets.

Former minister Deepak Joshi who joined Congress from BJP a few weeks ago was mobbed in Khategaon by Congress workers to protest his nomination in Khategaon assembly constituency.

The irate Congress workers damaged his vehicle.

At least half-a-dozen Congress leaders including PCC vice-president Damodar Singh Yadav along with their supporters resigned from the party for not being given party tickets.

Senior BJP leader Jai Singh Kushwaha resigned from the party for being denied ticket in the polls.

Next Story