BJP List Likely Today, Relief For Raja Singh on the Cards

Hyderabad: Sources in the BJP said that the party’s first list of candidates is likely to have 55 names, after the central election committee sent it to the party’s parliamentary board, headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, for approval. Further, an ‘understanding’ with the Jana Sena, rather than an alliance, is also likely, they said.

The party is likely to nominate three of its MPs — Bandi Sanjay from Karimnagar, Soyam Bapu Rao from Adilabad and Dharmapuri Arvind from Nizamabad — as candidates in the state polls. The fourth MP is party state president and Union minister G. Kishan Reddy.

Soyam Bapu Rao said, “Though I am not interested in contesting the Assembly polls, if the party orders, I will be in the fray. Otherwise, I want to fight the parliamentary polls.”

Sources also indicated that the suspension on Goshamahal MLA Raja Singh — the sole BJP MLA in the 2018 polls — is also likely to be lifted as the party braces to announce its list. He was suspended from the party in August 2022 for his comments against Prophet Mohammad.

BJP candidates were waiting impatiently for the list of candidates citing the delay as a hindrance to the poll campaign. In contrast, the BRS has named most of its candidates and issued B Forms, while the Congress has released its first list.

Sources said that the party is not likely to enter into a formal alliance with the Jana Sena, though it is a constituent party of the NDA at the Centre. However, there will be an unofficial understanding, they indicated.

Nemuri Shankar Goud, state incharge of Telangana for Jana Sena, said, “Though the electoral alliance has been entered into, the number of seats that Jana Sena would get is however not clear. We have asked for 32 seats. The details will be known in two days.”

The BJP is likely to bank on BCs for securing its votes, by projecting a BC candidate as its CM face, with around 40 BC candidates also likely to get tickets. BJP’s election management committee chairman Etala Rajendar is likely to contest from both Gajwel and Huzurabad. Women are also likely to get more seats.

Next Story