BJP panel to probe voter list irreguarities

HYDERABAD: BJP's Election Commission Affairs Committee chairman Marri Shashidhar Reddy will be monitoring irregularities in the voter lists and administration failures in the state.

Union minister and the party’s state unit chief G. Kishan Reddy apart from appointing Shashidhar Reddy to the post, also named K. Dileep Kumar as convener, while Sarala Kethineni, Dr Premraj Yadav, K. Anthony Reddy, Dr M. Laxman, Edelli Ajay Kumar, Ponna Venkata Ramana, Pavan and Baradwaz will be the panel’s members.

The committee will ‘scan’ irregularities in the voter’s list prepared by the BRS government and its acts of omissions and commissions.

Shashidhar Reddy said that since coming to power, the BRS has been manipulating the voter’s list, including adding bogus names to serve its electoral interests.

"We will work on the irregularities in preparing the voter’s list, which will be released officially on Monday. We will verify the bogus votes and take measures to prevent manipulations. We will work on streamlining the process by bringing all manipulations to the notice of the Election Commission," Shashidhar Reddy said.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story