179th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra114584081235431351 Andhra Pradesh6095585198915244 Tamil Nadu5309084757178685 Karnataka5029823940257808 Uttar Pradesh3362942632884771 Delhi2347011981034877 West Bengal2155801870614183 Odisha167161133466722 Telangana1670461353571016 Bihar164224149722855 Assam150349121610528 Kerala12221687341490 Gujarat119088999083271 Rajasthan109088906851293 Haryana103773816901069 Madhya Pradesh97906743981877 Punjab90032658182646 Chhatisgarh7777541111628 Jharkhand6710052807590 Jammu and Kashmir5971138521951 Uttarakhand3713924810460 Goa2678320844327 Puducherry2142816253431 Tripura2069612956222 Himachal Pradesh11190691997 Chandigarh92566062106 Manipur8430653951 Arunachal Pradesh6851496713 Nagaland5306407910 Meghalaya4356234232 Sikkim2119178923 Mizoram15069490
Nation Politics 21 Jul 2020 AP Cabinet rejig: Ja ...

AP Cabinet rejig: Jagan to induct two BC ministers

Published Jul 21, 2020, 12:18 pm IST
Updated Jul 21, 2020, 12:18 pm IST
Homemaker, wife of party faithful, nominated to AP Legislative Council
AP CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
 AP CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy

Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy is likely to expand his Cabinet by inducting two ministers from Backward Classes on Wednesday at a simple ceremony in Raj Bhavan where Governor Biswabhusan Harichandan will administer the oath of office.

Chelluboyina Srinivasa Venugopala Krishna, YSR Congress MLA representing Ramachandrapuram Assembly Constituency in East Godavari and another party MLA from Palasa, Seediri Appalaraju, are to be inducted during the reshuffle.


Following the vacancy in two Cabinet berths as Deputy CM and minister for revenue, registrations and stamps Pilli Subash Chandra Bose and minister for animal husbandry and fisheries Mopidevi Venkata Ramana Rao hailing from backward classes, were elected to Rajya Sabha recently, the Chief Minister is filling up the two berths with legislators from the same communities.

Venugopala Krishna belongs to the dominant Settibalija community in East Godavari. He earlier served as Zilla Parishad chairman in East Godavari. He is a staunch loyalist of Jagan Mohan Reddy and a follower of Y.S. Rajasekhar Reddy.


Though the names of Jogi Ramesh, representing Pedana Assembly segment in Krishna district and belonging to Gowda community and Ponnada Satish representing Mummidivaram Assembly segment in East Godavari hailing from fishermen community, did the rounds, it was Venugopala Krishna, whose name has been finalised. Appalaraju is a highly educated person.

Meanwhile, the Governor accepted the resignations of Subash Chandra Bose and Ramana Rao.

The YSR Congress government has given an opportunity to an SC leader and a woman from minority community to get nominated as Member of Legislative Council in Governor’s quota.


Former MP from Amalapuram in previous TD regime Pandula Ravindra Babu, representing SC community, and Maina Jakiya Khanum, from the Muslim community, will be nominated as MLCs. Their names were cleared by Jagan Mohan Reddy. Khanum is a homemaker and her late husband Mayana Afzal Alikhan was market committee chairman at Rayachoti and used to be an active leader in the YSR Congress.