104th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2119871152629026 Tamil Nadu114978665711571 Delhi100823720883115 Gujarat36858263231967 Uttar Pradesh2770718761785 Telangana2390212703295 Karnataka234749849372 West Bengal2212614711757 Rajasthan2026315965459 Andhra Pradesh200198920239 Haryana1750413335276 Madhya Pradesh1528411579617 Bihar12140901497 Assam11737743414 Odisha9526648648 Jammu and Kashmir84295255132 Punjab64914494132 Kerala5623334128 Chhatisgarh3207257814 Uttarakhand3161258642 Jharkhand2815204520 Goa181310617 Tripura158012061 Manipur13897330 Himachal Pradesh107074610 Puducherry101148014 Nagaland5782280 Chandigarh4874016 Arunachal Pradesh269781 Mizoram191130 Sikkim125650 Meghalaya80431
Nation Politics 16 Feb 2019 It’s official, ...

It’s official, K Chandrasekhar Rao to expand team on February 19

Published Feb 16, 2019, 12:17 am IST
Updated Feb 16, 2019, 12:17 am IST
Mr Rao instructed officers concerned to make arrangements for the swearing-in ceremony.
K. Chandrasekhar Rao
 K. Chandrasekhar Rao

Hyderabad: Finally, a muhurat has been set for the much-awaited expansion of the state Cabinet.

Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao on Friday decided to expand his Cabinet on February 19, Magha Shuddha Pournami, an auspicious day according to the Telugu calendar. Mr Rao met Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan at Raj Bhavan on Friday afternoon and conveyed his decision to expand the Cabinet.


According to the Chief Minister’s Office, the swearing-in will take place at 11.30 am.

Mr Rao instructed officers concerned to make arrangements for the swearing-in ceremony.

Mr Rao’s decision to expand the Cabinet comes a day after it was announced that the state's vote-on-account Budget would take be tabled on February 22.

Questions were raised as to who would present the Budget speech in the absence of a finance minister. With the announcement of the Cabinet expansion date, speculation has risen in the party about probables who will get berths and the number of MLAs who will be inducted.

According to party sources, Mr Rao was likely to induct 10 ministers, against the maximum limit of 18 ministers including the CM which constitutes 15 per cent of the Assembly strength of 119 members.

Party cadres are confident that Mr Rao will induct his nephew and senior MLA T. Harish Rao in his Cabinet in view of rumours that he was sidelined after the TRS returned to power. Senior leaders close to Mr Rao are said to have advised him to take Mr Harish Rao on board, to put an end to speculation.

Sources pointed out that Mr Rao was not likely to induct party working president and son K.T. Rama Rao as he had to allocate more time to prepare the cadre for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. But some party leaders feel that Mr Rao would induct his son if Mr Harish Rao was made a minsiter.

Those apart, the Chief Minister was likely to induct former ministers like Mr Etala Rajendar, Mr Jagadishwar Reddy, A. Indra Karan Reddy, Mr Jogu Ramanna and Mr Kadiyam Srihari.

Under the ST quota, either Mr Redya Nayak or Ms Rekha Nayak and under the SC quota, either Mr Koppula Eswar or Mr Kale Yadaiah were likely to get a chance.

Mr Rao was likely to pick any of the following legislators — Mr E. Dayakar Rao, Mr V. Prashanth Reddy, Mr D. Vinay Bhaskar, Mr P. Narender Reddy, Ms Gongidi Sunitha, Mr M. Kishan Reddy and Mr Niranjan Reddy – under the freshers’ quota.

Party sources said Khammam district would get representation in the Cabinet only after the Lok Sabha elections.

Location: India, Telangana, Hyderabad