KCR faces 43 challengers in Gajwel, 38 in Kamareddy, besides road roller threat

Hyderabad: The Election Commission of India said it would make arrangements to accommodate more EVMs (electronic voting machines) in Gajwel and Kamareddy Assembly constituencies from where Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao is contesting given that there are 44 and 39 contestants, respectively, in the poll fray.

The deadline for the withdrawal of nominations passed at 3 pm on November 15, with 19 candidates withdrawing nominations in Kamareddy and 70 doing likewise in Gajwel on the last day.

The two Assembly constituencies are in the limelight, given that Rao is taking on ex-BRS leader Etala Rajendar in Gajwel and TPCC chief A. Revanth Reddy in Kamareddy.

The ECI said it would provide additional EVMs if there are more than 16 candidates in the electoral fray in a constituency.

Another threat facing the BRS is from the Yuga Tulasi Party, which has been allotted the road roller symbol, with contentions that it resembles the BRS’ car symbol.

Yuga Tulasi Party president K. Shiva Kumar said they are contesting in 68 constituencies, including Gajwel and Kamareddy.

Meanwhile, there are 30 candidates in the poll fray in Dubbak, after eight nominations were rejected. As many as 41 candidates will battle it out in Bhupalpally after two withdrew nominations and one was rejected. Also, 19 candidates are in the Kodangal fray, after three nominations were rejected.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story