EC rejects 606 nominations, Gajwel, Kamareddy, LB Nagar has higher independents

Hyderabad: The Election Commission has rejected 606 nominations after scrutiny, leaving 2,898 candidates in fray for 119 Assembly constituencies ahead of Wednesday's withdrawal of papers. A clear picture of the number of candidates in the fray is expected to emerge on Thursday.

EC officials rejected nominations of five candidates in Gajwel and six candidates in Kamareddy, from where Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao is contesting, mostly independents and candidates of registered unrecognised parties.

In Kamareddy, 45 Independents remained in the fray and the remaining 13 filed nomination papers from registered recognised and registered unrecognised parties.

In Gajwel, 86 independents remained in the fray while 23 candidates filed nominations from registered recognised and unrecognised parties.

Medchal was left with 67 candidates, followed by LB Nagar 57, Munugode 50, Malkajgiri 41, Palair 40, 36 each at Khammam, Kodad, Nalgonda, Serilingampally, Parkal, 35 each at Ibrahimpatnam and Huzurnagar.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story