In Kuthuparamba, BJP scares both fronts

For Ms Shailaja, the candidature was a last minute decision.

Kannur: The contest in Kuthuparamba is a battle of pride for both UDF candidate and JD (U) leader K.P. Mohanan and CPM central committee member K.K. Shailaja. While the incumbent, Mr Mohanan, wants to better his 3,303-vote margin of 2011, Ms Shailaja is trying to wrest the seat once she held.

Both fronts, however, admit that BJP's C. Sadanandan Master, state vice-president of National Teachers Union, BJP’s teacher’s wing, who lost both his legs in a CPM attack 22 years back, is far ahead of them in campaigning and that scares them.

“I am not worried about rivals. I am maintaining close relations with my voters beyond politics. Even during last elections, the LDF fielded a good candidate who had deep connections, but people elected me. I am expecting to double the majority,” said Mr Mohanan.

For Ms Shailaja, the candidature was a last minute decision. Her party was planning to field her in Peravoor. “The LDF thought that it would be better to field a CPM candidate here and we are getting a good response from the people,” said she.

“It is not an easy walk over here and we need to put up a good fight.” Sadanandan Master is also confident of pocketing 40,000 to 45,000 votes this time, which would be enough to give sleepless nights to both fronts. “We are well ahead in campaigning and are getting good feedback from the people. They are looking for a change and even from among Muslims we are getting positive response,” he said.

Though chances to win are less, both fronts are considering the BJP as a spoiler. “Their election campaign is far ahead of us. They are spending money like anything,” said a JD (U) state leader. “Usually, BJP trades its votes,” alleges Ms Shailaja.

“However, this time, the Master is their candidate and they are taking the elction seriously. They want to prove that O.K. Vasu and A. Asokan leaving them has not affected their organisational strength.” Mr Vasu was the BJP candidate here in 2011 and had won 11,835 votes.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story