K Chandrasekhar Rao's Speaker call tomorrow

Probable nominees not too keen on post.

Hyderabad: Telanagana state Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao is expected to take a decision on the new Assembly Speaker on January 15.

Party sources said the CM has been considering the names of former ministers Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, E. Rajender, A. Indra Karan Reddy, senior MLA T.S. Redya Nayak and former deputy speaker Padma Devender Reddy for the post.

Sources said the party chief has spoken to some of them to know their mind and was likely to interact with the others in the coming two days. Sources even said that the probable nominees are not too keen to accept the post of Speaker.

Election for the Speaker is scheduled for January 18, the very next day after MLAs take oath. Assembly proceedings are to commence at 11.30 am on January 17 with protem Speaker Mumtaz Ahmad Khan in the chair. He will administer oath to the newly-elected MLAs.

The Governor will address a joint session of the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council on January 19.

The House will introduce a motion of thanks to the Governor’s address and adopt the same the next day.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story