After nominations, BRS lures upset Opposition leaders

Warangal/Karimnagar: With the nomination phase over, the ruling BRS has now shifted its focus to the disappointed and disgruntled leaders of the BJP and Congress in the erstwhile Karimnagar and Warangal districts to induct them into the party.

After announcing the name of Tula Uma, the former ZP chairperson of the erstwhile Karimnagar district, as its candidate from Vemulawada, the BJP handed over the Form-B to Dr Chennamneni Vikas Rao.

Disappointed by this, Uma resigned from the primary membership of the BJP by accusing the party leadership of betraying her. Taking this as an advantage, the BRS approached her inviting her into the party fold.

On Monday, she joined the BRS in the presence of K.T. Rama Rao at Pragathi Bhavan in Hyderabad. She was accompanied by BRS district chief Thota Agaiah and party nominee Chalmeda Laxminarayana Rao.

In Manakondur, BJP senior leader Gaddam Nagaraju, who worked hard to strengthen the party, was denied the ticket which was allotted to Arepally Mohan, the joined from the BRS. Sensing this, the BRS approached Nagaraju, who in turn, along with his followers, joined the ruling party and announced his support to MLA and BRS nominee Rasamayi Balakishan.

In Warangal West too, at the behest of party leadership, MLC and Station Ghanpur BRS nominee Kadiyam Srihari met BJP spokesperson Anugula Rakesh Reddy, who lost the party ticket to Rao Padma, and invited him to join the party. Following this, Rakesh Reddy resigned from the BJP membership and joined BRS in the presence of KTR at Pragathi Bhavan.

After the Congress denied a ticket from Warangal West, an upset former DCCB chairman Janga Raghava Reddy filed his nomination on a ticket from All India Forward Bloc (AIFB). After learning this, the BRS is trying to induct Raghava Reddy, who has a grip over three segments -- Warangal West, Wardhannapet and Palakurthy.

Next Story