Achampet Holds \'Sentimental Value\' for Parties as Victory Brings Power

Hyderabad: Achampet constituency in Nagarkurnool district, which witnessed violent clashes between Congress and BRS workers late on Saturday, holds 'sentimental value' for all parties, like Gajwel.

Any party that wins Achampet (SC) comes to power — that has been the case in 12 of 13 elections since 1962 when the constituency was formed.

The only time this did not happen was in 2009, when the Congress lost Achampet but retained power.

Achampet BRS contestant and MLA Guvvala Balaraju sustained injuries in the clashes and was admitted to a hospital in the city. He is aiming for a third straight term.

The Achampet Record

In 12 out of 13 polls, Achampet has predicted the winner

After the formation of Telangana state in 2014, the TRS (now BRS) won Achampet seat twice in 2014 and 2018.

1962: Congress's Naganna wins, party comes to power.

1967, 1972 and 1978: Trend repeats, Congress retains power

1982: TD candidate P. Mahendranath wins, party dethrones Congress

1985: TD's P. Mahendranath retains seat in bypolls, party retains power

1989: Congress's D. Kiran Kumar defeats TD's Mahendranath. Congress wrests state

1994, 1999: TD's P. Ramulu defeats Congress, party returns to power.

2004: Congress’ C. Vamshi Krishna defeats TD’ Ramulu, Congress forms government

2009: An aberration, TD's candidate wins but Congress retains power.

2014, 2018: BRS candidate Guvvala Balaraju defeats Congress, BRS wins

Next Story