Top 10 constituencies that may decide Telangana\'s future

Of the 119 Assembly constituencies, DC chooses 10 which will feature the state's most well-known faces

Hyderabad: Of the 119 Assembly constituencies, DC chooses 10 which will feature the state’s most well-known faces.

Gajwel: The Assembly constituency represented by a Chief Minister since state formation. It has seen significant development, thanks to its MLA, Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, sanctioning it nearly Rs2,000 crore. Gajwel is known as a 'government education hub' with the KG to PG scheme in place.

Kamareddy: In the spotlight with Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao choosing it — the time he will be contesting two Assembly seats in his four-decade-long political career. (He has contested the Assembly and Lok Sabha polls simultaneously in 2004 and 2014). Minister K.T. Rama Rao has promised to turn Kamareddy into “another Gajwel.” If the CM wins both Gajwel and Kamareddy, there is no clarity on which seat he would like to retain.

Siddipet: Synonymous with minister T. Harish Rao since 2004, bastion of his uncle, Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, from 1985 to 2001. Harish Rao has registered landslide victories six times, his margin increasing every time and all his rivals losing their deposits. He has lavished much attention on the constituency.

Siricilla: Became famous after minister K.T. Rama Rao started representing it. He squeaked through by 171 votes in 2009 but swept to victory by a margin of 88,886 votes in 2018. With Rama Rao aiming for a fifth straight win, local BRS leaders and workers are aggressively campaigning stating that he would become CM.

Kodangal: The seat that gave TPCC chief A. Revanth Reddy, then in the Telugu Desam, had three straight victories but defeated him in 2018 after he joined the Congress. He has applied to contest from Kodangal again, and the campaign plank in the constituency is that he could be a CM candidate if the party wins the elections

Huzurnagar: The constituency has voted for former TPCC chief and Nalgonda MP N. Uttam Kumar Reddy five times since 1999. He shifted to the Nalgonda Lok Sabha seat in May 2019. He has declared that he will quit active politics if his victory margin is less than 50,000 votes.

Madhira: CLP leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka has won this seat without a break from 2009. He has held a 109-day 1,360-km padayatra and his associates are projecting him as the future Chief Minister if the Congress wins.

Karimnagar: Former BJP state president Bandi Sanjay Kumar may contest from the seat, which turned him down in December 2018. Hit high time with BJP by-poll victories in Dubbak and Huzarnagar and a great show in the GHMC elections that raised the party’s hopes. Has since been removed from the post, and elevated to general secretary. If he does contest, he will face three-time winner Gangula Kamalakar.

Huzurabad: The seat that shook the BRS by staying with Etala Rajendar after the ruling party expelled him, in 2021. Rajendar has won six elections and by-polls since 2004. It remains to be seen if the BJP will field him against Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, something that he has repeatedly said he would like to do.

Nalgonda: Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, who won every election from 1999, was drubbed in 2018. He was elected as a Lok Sabha member from Bhongir. He has stepped up campaigning to wrest the seat, after what appeared to be a brief bout of disenchantment with the party. He is the Congress’s star campaigner.

Next Story