Deccan Chronicle

State's largest district entrenched in internal power struggle

Deccan Chronicle.| Puli Sharat Kumar

Published on: June 12, 2022 | Updated on: June 12, 2022

Three ZP chairpersons try to outmanoeuvre others



Bhupalpally: A curious power struggle has gripped Jayashankar Bhupalpally district, with three zilla parishad chairpersons, each  trying to outmanoeuvre the others in a bid for supremacy.

On paper, Jakkula Sri Harshini is the ZP chairperson. But, the chairpersons of Peddapalli district and Warangal district, Putta Madhukar and Gandra Jyothi, respectively, have been making moves that are usually in Harshini’s domain.

Jayashankar Bhupalpally is the largest district, geographically, in Telangana, having two Assembly segments — Bhupalpally and Manthani.

Madhukar, TRS incharge of Manthani segment, has been partaking as ZP chairperson and TRS in-charge in events held at Kataram, Mahadevpur, Palimeyla, Maha Muttaram and Malwar mandals, as they fall under the Manthani segment. On the other hand, Jyothi is the wife of Bhupalpally MLA Gandra Venkataramana Reddy and is also the TRS president of the Bhupalpally district unit. Despite holding the ZP chair in Warangal, she has been more active in Bhupalpally as the top ZP member and party person.

The power struggle among the trio has left government staff, district administration officials and party cadre confused about the protocols. Whenever a ZP meeting is held, there is tension among different sections of party supporters. While some party members openly pronounce their allegiances, others are moving cautiously to minimise conflicts.


About The Author
Latest News
Most Popular