Andhra Assembly elections: 1 TDP, 1 YSRCP worker killed in clashes

This is the first general election in the state after the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh in 2014.

Mumbai: Clashes that left one TDP man dead and malfunctioning electronic voting machines (EVMs) marred votes in Andhra Pradesh which is seeing simultaneous state and general elections today.

In Andhra, the major factors that could determine the outcome of the elections are strong anti-incumbency, caste and corruption. This is the first state and general elections in the state after its bifurcation in 2014.

Here are LIVE updates:

02:50 pm: Guntur: TDP leader Kodela Siva Prasada Rao attacked at a polling booth in Sattenapalli.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

02:25 pm: The deceased have been identified as Pulla Reddy of YSR Congress party and Sidda Bhaskar Reddy of the TDP, according to police sources, reported PTI.

01:55 pm: 41 per cent polling was recorded till 1 pm for the 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh.

01:45 pm: TDP leader S Bhaskar Reddy was killed in clashes in Tadipatri town of Anantapur. TDP has alleged that YSRCP workers were behind the incident.

12:20 pm: Jana Sena Chief Pawan Kalyan at the polling booth set up at Chaitanya School in Vijayawada.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

10:00 am: Jana Sena MLA candidate Madhusudhan Gupta smashes an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) at a polling booth in Gooty, in Anantapur district. He has been arrested by police.

09:00 am: There have complaints of EVM glitches in nearly 50 booths, resulting in some delay in polling.

08:55 am: After casting his vote, Andhra Pradesh IT Minister and TDP's Nara Lokesh in Amaravati said, “It'll be a decisive win in Mangalgiri (assembly seat) and also across the state. I am here to convince my electorate that I am a meaningful and a worthy candidate, and I think I've done that.”

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

08:30 am: "I'm very confident, people are looking for a change, vote without fear": YSR Congress Party Chief Jagan Mohan Reddy after casting his votes in Kadapa.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

08:20 am: TDP MP candidate from Vijaywada, Kesineni Srinivas castes his vote.

08:15 am: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu and his family caste their vote for in Amravati.

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

07:45 am: People queue up at a polling booth in Amaravati to cast their vote

Photo: ANI | TwitterPhoto: ANI | Twitter

07:05 am: Visuals of polling booth in Vishapkhapatnam

07:00 am: Voting for 2019 Lok Sabha election and Assembly polls begin.

06:55 am: Voters queue outside polling booths to caste their votes.

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analyses et all. Happy reading.

Next Story