While BJP won, its state president Ajay Bhatt lost in U'Khand

The party went on to register a huge victory by securing a comfortable majority in the polls.

New Delhi: Despite the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) sweeping the Uttarakhand Assembly elections, state party President Ajay Bhatt, who was contesting from Ranikhet Assembly constituency, was defeated by his Congress counterpart Karan Mahara.

Mahara defeated Bhatt by around 4,981 votes in the polls.

On the contrary, the BJP has gained a significant majority in the state with 56 seats, as Congress trailed with 11 seats.

In a major blow to the Congress, outgoing Chief Minster had Chief Minister Harish Rawat lost to Bharatiya Janata Party candidates in both seats he contested from -- Haridwar Rural and Kichha.

Rawat also tendered his resignation hours after his defeat.

( Source : ANI )
Next Story