140th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra53560136843518306 Tamil Nadu3086492506805159 Andhra Pradesh2445491547492203 Karnataka1886111055993398 Delhi1461341316574131 Uttar Pradesh126722767212120 West Bengal98459671202059 Bihar8274154139450 Telangana8075157586637 Gujarat71064542382652 Assam5883842326145 Rajasthan5249738235789 Odisha4592731785321 Haryana4163534781483 Madhya Pradesh3902529020996 Kerala3433121832109 Jammu and Kashmir2489717003472 Punjab2390315319586 Jharkhand185168998177 Chhatisgarh12148880996 Uttarakhand96326134125 Goa871259575 Tripura6161417641 Puducherry5382320187 Manipur3752204411 Himachal Pradesh3371218114 Nagaland30119738 Arunachal Pradesh223115923 Chandigarh1595100425 Meghalaya11154986 Sikkim9105101 Mizoram6203230
Nation Politics 08 Jul 2019 K'taka crisis: ...

K'taka crisis: All JDS, Cong ministers quit in last bid to restructure govt

Published Jul 8, 2019, 11:55 am IST
Updated Jul 8, 2019, 4:03 pm IST
Last bid attempt to save coalition, resignations to pacify rebels with ministries.
Ten of the MLAs who resigned flew by the chartered plane to Mumbai. They have been lodged at a hotel there. (Photo: File)
 Ten of the MLAs who resigned flew by the chartered plane to Mumbai. They have been lodged at a hotel there. (Photo: File)

Bengaluru: The JD(S)-Congress government in Karnataka is facing a crisis after 13 lawmakers of the alliance submitted their resignations to the state Assembly Speaker on Saturday.

On Monday, after intensive talks with ministers in both camps, all Congress and JDS ministers resign in a last-minute bid to restructure the government and give rebels ministries.


Both the JD(S) and the Congress have been plagued by dissension over allocation of ministerial berths and distribution of Lok Sabha poll tickets. The cracks became deeper after the BJP swept the parliamentary election in the state.

Ten MLAs who resigned flew by a chartered plane to Mumbai on Saturday evening. They are staying at the Sofitel Hotel. While Congress blamed the BJP for the crisis, BJP on its part has denied any role in it.

The troubled ruling coalition, which has 118 MLAs in the 224-member Assembly, faces the risk of losing its majority in the House if the resignations are accepted.


Here are the latest updates:

15.30 pm: Karnataka Independent MLA Nagesh, who resigned earlier in the day, has reached Sofitel hotel in Mumbai where other rebels Karnataka MLAs are staying.

15.15 pm: Karnataka Congress MLA Soumya Reddy, daughter of Ramalinga Reddy (Congress MLA who had tendered his resignation), would come to Bengaluru on Tuesday and attend the Congress Legislative Party (CLP) meeting.

15.00 pm: All Janata Dal Secular ministers resigned after Chief Minister H D Kumarawamy announces that the Cabinet would be restructured soon. "I am not anxious about the recent developments," he said of the crisis that has engulfed his government.


13.14 pm: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh in Lok Sabha stated that BJP has nothing to do with what is happening in Karnataka. BJP has never indulged in horse trading.

13.04 pm: Twenty one Karnataka Congress ministers have resigned voluntarily confirms state Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah.

Earlier, after a meeting with Chief Minister G Parameshwara, Congress leader D K Suresh had said all Congress ministers would resign, reportedly to accommodate the demands of rebel lawmakers.

Read | Congress ministers in K'taka resign voluntarily to enable cabinet reshuffle


12.45 pm: Karnataka Minister Zameer Ahmed Khan said, "At least 6-7 MLAs who are in the BJP camp would be back by evening."

12.30 pm: Immediately after resigning from the post, Karnataka Independent MLA Nagesh boards a special flight for Mumbai.

12.00 pm: Karnataka Minister and Bidar North MLA Rahim Mahmood Khan also threatens to resign.

Read | Another ruling coalition MLA from Bidar North in K'taka threatens to quit

11.45 am: BJP leader Shobha Karandlaje, after a meeting with BJP leader B S Yeddyurappa, said, "Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy should resign immediately. He has lost the majority. Congress MLAs have already resigned. He should make way for another government."


11.20 am: Karnataka Minister and Independent MLA Nagesh resigned from his post and withdrew support to the H D Kumaraswamy-led coalition government. 

Nagesh, who was recently inducted into the ministry as small scale industries minister, met Governor Vajubhai Vala at the Raj Bhavan here and submitted the letter. The move comes amid reports that ministers in the coalition government will be asked to step down to make way for disgruntled MLAs who have resigned as legislators.

In a letter to the Governor, he said, "I've already withdrawn my support to the government headed by H D Kumaraswamy. I would further by this letter unequivocally state I would extend my support to the government of BJP if called for by your good self."


Read | Inducted last month, Minister H Nagesh resigns in K'taka; offers support to BJP

10.35 am: Congress leaders met for breakfast at Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara's residence.

Congress Legislature Party leader Siddharamaiah and Ministers U T Khader, Shivashankara Reddy, Venkataramanappa, Jayamala, M B Patil, Krishna Byre Gowda, Rajshekar Patil, Rajshekar Patil, D K Shivakumar were present at G Parameshwara's residence for breakfast.

After the meeting, Congress firefighter D K Suresh said, "There is no infighting. Our leaders are in touch with those who have resigned. The government is stable." 


He blamed the BJP for wrecking the coalition. "BJP's national leaders are behind this. BJP does not want any opposition in the state or the country. They are ruining democracy," he added.

Read | BJP destroying democracy; all Congress ministers will resign: MP DK Suresh

Location: India, Karnataka, Bengaluru