Mizoram records more than 70 percent voters turn out

There are 174 candidates in the fray

Guwahati: More than 70 per cent electorates came out to exercise their franchise for 40-member legislative assembly in Mizoram on Tuesday with the frontier state witnessing a four-cornered contest between the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), the Congress and the BJP. Enthusiastic voters turned up at polling booths in the early morning hours to exercise their franchise.

Informing that they have the report of more than 70 percent polling so far, the office of the chief electoral officer at Aizawl said that it will take some time in calculating the overall poll percentage but the final figure would be more than it.

Polling which came to an end at about 4 pm on Tuesday has been peaceful with no incidents of violence reported from any parts of the state. However there were a few incidents of EVM malfunctioning in a few polling stations that delayed the start of the exercise.

Mizoram chief minister and MNF chief Zormathanga, meanwhile, said that his party will come to power for the second consecutive term. “I have full confidence that we will be able to form the government with an absolute majority. It will not be a hung assembly. There will be an MNF government, I am confident,” said the Mizoram chief minister after exercising his franchise.

Meanwhile ZPM chief Lalduhoma also exuded confidence that his party will be able to topple the MNF from power and that they will form the government on their own.

“We are going to form the government alone, we are confident. They (MNF and the Congress) are not confident. People know that ZPM is going to form the next government,” Mr Lalduhoma told reporters.

The Congress and the BJP, too, are hoping to have a good show in the assembly polls.

There are 174 candidates in the fray. The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the main opposition party Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and Congress have fielded candidates for all 40 seats. While BJP and Aam Aadmi Party have fielded 23 and 4 candidates, respectively, in addition to 27 independents are in the fray.

The counting of votes is scheduled on December 3.

Next Story