Tamil Nadu polls: Retired DGP vs actor in Mylapore?

Ruling AIADMK and Opposition DMK are expected to lock horns directly in more than 12 constituencies in the state capital.

Chennai: Former DGP R. Nataraj might have an interesting challenge in his electoral debut in Mylapore constituency as Congress is expected to field actor Khushbu in this historic neighbourhood in the heart of Chennai. Congress sources said the party has specifically asked for Mylapore constituency from DMK as it has decided to field the actor, who joined the party two years ago after quitting DMK. The AIADMK has already announced nomination of Nataraj for Mylapore.

Ruling AIADMK and Opposition DMK are expected to lock horns directly in more than 12 constituencies in the state capital. Last time, the DMK won only two constituencies in the city. While AIADMK has denied tickets to 12 sitting MLAs in Chennai, due to possible anti-incumbency that could have been created during the December floods, the DMK is likely to field veterans and give three segments to ally Congress.

Besides Mylapore, Congress is likely to contest in Velachery and Royapuram.
While former Deputy Mayor ‘Karate’ Thyagarajan might be the candidate from Velachery, ‘Royapuram’ Mano is likely to be the candidate in Royapuram against AIADMK veteran D. Jayakumar.

DMK treasurer may seek re-election from Kolathur against J.C.D. Prabhakaran of AIADMK, while the Perambur seat may go to N. R. Dhanapalan of Perunthalaivar Makkal Katchi against AIADMK’s P. Vetrivel. DMK sources said the party is likely to field B. Ranganathan from Villivakkam against AIADMK’s Thadi M. Rasu and Tamilan Prasana against DMK’s Parithi Elamvazuthi, who switched over to AIADMK after an alleged tiff with Stalin.

The sources said there was no clarity about Harbour constituency as party president M. Karunanidhi might contest from there. “In case Thalaivar does not contest, P.K. Sekhar Babu may be fielded there,” they said. Sitting MLA J. Anbalagan will be re-nominated from Chepauk-Triplicane constituency against A. Noorjahan of AIADMK, while Hasan Mohammad Jinnah might test his electoral waters again from Thousand Lights taking on Minister B. Valarmathi, who defeated him in 2011 polls.

M. Subramanian, former Chennai Mayor and close confidante of Stalin, is the candidate from Saidapet, sources said adding Mohan might be fielded from Anna Nagar, Dhanasekaran from Virugambakkam and old-timer Ku. Ka. Selvam from T. Nagar.

Subramanian has a formidable opponent in C. Ponnaiyan of AIADMK. Ponnaiyan had served in M.G. Ramachandran and J. Jayalalithaa’s cabinets.
There is also a speculation the DMK is asking Congress to take R.K. Nagar constituency from where Jayalalithaa is contesting and the latter has refused the offer. In that case, the DMK may nominate Muthu Selvan, the sources said.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story