Over 70 nominations for RK Nagar bypoll rejected

Deepa nomination papers also rejected.

Chennai: The high profile RK Nagar on Tuesday created yet another record with the number of nominations being rejected surpassing the number of nominations accepted. Day-long drama prevailed in the congested assembly constituency till late Tuesday night with over 70 nominations of independents being rejected by returning officer K. Veluchamy.

Though the district election officer till the time of going to press issued no official communiqué on the number of forms accepted, the scrutiny of total 145 forms continued till late night. According to highly placed sources J. Deepa, niece of late Jayalalithaa, was briefed about her nomination being rejected for submitting the incomplete form.

A highly placed official on RK Nagar poll duty told DC that returning officer Veluchamy conveyed the preliminary findings of the scrutiny to the corporation commissioner and the office of chief electoral officer informing them the reasons for rejecting the nominations of independents and a final official communiqué will be sent on Wednesday.

Earlier in the day J. Deepa cried foul with the election commission and said that she would approach the court seeking justice. “Ms Deepa did not fill all the essential columns in her affidavit”, an official who was part of the nomination scrutiny told DC.

When asked about the drama related to actor Vishal nominations, an official blamed the media for sensitising the issue. “When we enquired two people admitted that they did not sign the nomination forms supporting the candidature of Vishal, and the same was explained to Vishal stating that his nomination will be rejected. Later in the day Vishal explained that they were genuine signatures and not forged, this was accepted by RO”, the official added.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is December 7 and the final list of candidates will be released on the same day. On Tuesday after the supplementary revision, the total number of voters in RK Nagar was 2,28,234 including 1.17 lakh women voters.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story