Yakutpura remains a stronghold of the Owaisis

Hyderabad: The Yakutpura Assembly constituency is a stronghold of the AIMIM, with former late MP Sultan Salauddin Owaisi, father of the Asaduddin and Akbaruddin Owaisi, residing and representing the constituency on multiple occasions.

Referred to as ‘Salar-E Millat’, Sultan Salahuddin Owaisi contested his first Assembly election from Pathergatti in 1962, winning on a MIM ticket. In his second election, Salahuddin Owaisi contested from Yakutpura in 1967 and won with a resounding majority, in the first of many wins from the seat.

Popular leader Mohammed Mumtaz Ahmed Khan, who won on a Majlis Bachao Tehreek (MBT) ticket against independent candidate Ibrahim-Bin Masqati in 1994, joined the MIM and won the Yakutpura elections in 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014.

In the 2018 elections, the MIM high command moved Mohammed Mumtaz Ahmed Khan from Yakutpura to Charminar, sending Syed Pasha Quadri the other way. Both won from their respective constituencies with significant majorities.

In the 2014 Assembly elections, Mumtaz Khan secured 66,843 votes, clocking a majority of 34,432 votes against BJP’s C.H. Roop Raj, who secured 32,420 votes.

In the 2018 elections, Pasha Quadri secured 69,595 votes, logging a majority of 46,976 votes against then-TRS representative Sama Sunder Reddy, who secured 22,617 votes.

Next Story