\'Bharat Jodo Yatra\' to target both TRS and BJP in Telangana: Digvijaya, Jairam

HYDERABAD: Describing the BJP and the TRS as the two sides of the same coin, the Bharat Jodo Yatra national coordinators Digvijaya Singh and Jairam Ramesh asserted here on Tuesday that the TRS would not be spared by the yatra that’s currently through the southern states.

While briefing the media after holding a review meeting of the yatra preparations at the Gandhian Ideology Center at Bowenpally, the leaders ridiculed the political ambitions of KCR in launching a national party. Ramesh likened both Modi in Delhi and KCR in Telangana to the historical understanding between Delhi’s Sultans and Deccan’s Nizam (a vassal).

He took a jibe while referring to the Voluntary Retirement Scheme in KCR’s national party, “It is time for TRS not to take BRS (Bharat Rashtra Samithi), but a VRS. The Bharat Jodo targeted CPIM in Kerala and it will target the TRS along with the BJP here.”

Taking a dig at the viral video of TRS leaders distributing chicken and liquor in Warangal, Digvijaya felt that, with this, the TRS has taken the PDS mechanism initiated by Congress to a next level. He felt that “while the nation is facing a threat from the BJP, Telangana is facing a threat from the TRS.”

Underlining that the Bharat Jodo was unlike the Mann ki Baat, and was really ‘Jan ki Chinta’, the leaders emphasized that Rahul Gandhi’s yatra gained traction among the masses in Kerala and Karnataka. “There is a tremendous response even in (BJP-ruled) Karnataka. We are setting the narrative. Our message was heard by organisations like the RSS. Mohan Bhagwat started meeting Muslim and Dalit leaders. Leaders like Dattatreya Hosabale are raising issues like poverty and economic inequality,” added Ramesh.

Koppula Raju, another coordinator, said the 8 wings of the party, including the SC, ST and OBC cells, will be campaigning collectively. The PCC is also gearing up for the Samvidhan Bhachao, a 13-day campaign as a follow up,” he said.

The meeting was attended by PCC chief A Revanth Reddy, former PCC chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy, permanent member of Congress Working Committee T Subbarami Reddy, CLP leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, former minister Mohammed Ali Shabbir and others.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story