YSRC fields Deepika against filmstar Balakrishna from Hindupur

Anantapur: YSRC has almost finalised its selection of assembly candidates from Anantapur and Satya Sai districts, giving top priority to BCs and a minority leader.

According to party sources, Penukonda MLA M. Shanakara Narayana will be the Anantapur MP candidate while Anantapur sitting MP Talari Rangaiah has been shifted to Kalyandurg assembly segment. Sitting Kalyandurg MLA and minister Ushasri Charan of Kalyandurg, as already announced, will contest from Penukonda assembly segment.

Amidst protests by close aides of sitting MLA Dr. K. Sidda Reddy, YSRC high command has decided to field a new candidate Maqbul Ahmad. Ahmad is a native of Kadiri and runs a business in Bengaluru. Dr. Sidda Reddy has been ordered by the high command to cooperate with Ahmad and support him, as Kadiri is a stronghold of minorities.

In view of differences between Ushasri Charan and MP T. Rangaiah in Kalyandurg area, the ruling party has shifted Ushasri to Penukonda and has decided to field Rangaiah from Kalyandurg assembly segment. Penukonda MLA Shankara Narayana has been offered the Anantapur MP seat.

YSRC high command has decided to field Deepika as candidate from Hindupur assembly against sitting TD MLA and filmstar Nandamuri Balakrishna.

Sitting MLAs Ananta Venkatrami Reddy from Anantapur Urban, K. Pedda Reddy from Tadipathri and K. Venkatrami Reddy from Dharmavaram have been retained to contest from their constituencies.

There is a dilemma over nominees from Rayadurg, Madakasira and Singanamala assembly segments. Rayadurg MLA K. Ramachandra Reddy has been trying to appease high command, which is planning to nominate APIIC chairman Mettu Govinda Reddy from Rayadurg.

Similarly, the party is yet to finalise its candidate from the Madakasira seat, where a police officer is in the race, while sitting MLA M. Thippeswamy is mounting pressure on YSRC high command to retain the seat.

Hindupur MP Gorantla Madhav and Kadiri MLA Sidda Reddy have both been denied tickets to contest the 2024 general elections.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story