BRS aims to win 12 ZP seats in Maharashtra

HYDERABAD: The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), which has decided to make its first foray into electoral politics outside Telangana, is aiming to win at least 12 of the 34 zilla parishads in Maharashtra that are up for election soon.

This month, BRS president and Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao plans to conduct a third public meeting in Vidarbha after holding two already, including the recent meeting at Kandhar Loha in Maharasthra’s Nanded district. Rao has directed Maharashtra party leaders to form party committees in all the 288 Assembly constituencies and conduct aggressive campaigning on the "Telangana model" of welfare schemes and development projects.

Former sarpanches, MPTCS, ZPTCs, MLAs and MPs from various parties in Maharashtra joined the BRS recently. Party sources informed that Rao has been having daily teleconferences with a select group of leaders and giving them directives on stepping up activities in Maharashtra with a focus on the upcoming zilla parishad elections followed by the upcoming Assembly elections in October 2024.

Although a few leaders from Uttar Pradesh, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Punjab, and other states joined BRS, the CM is focused solely on Maharashtra, where local body elections are scheduled.

Party sources said Rao is now planning to hold a public meeting in Vidarbha region, which is in the eastern part of Maharashtra and one more district in the western region before the local bodies elections. The CM is planning to open the party offices in Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, and Aurangabad in Maharashtra shortly.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story