Finality evades Congress list

Six days of talks in New Delhi yield nothing.

Thiruvananthapuram: The dispute between Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and KPCC president V. M. Sudheeran on the candidates’ list continued even after six days of talks in New Delhi. Though the AICC leadership tried to settle the issues, there was no way out with Mr Chandy threatening to opt out of the elections if Mr Sudheeran’s stand was approved by the AICC.

Mr Sudheeran insisted that tainted sitting MLAs, Adoor Prakash (Konny), Benny Behanan (Thrikkakara) and K. Babu (Tripunithura) have to give way for others. Irikoor MLA K. C. Joseph has been in the fray for 40 years. But Mr Chandy and Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala joined hands and opposed Mr Sudheeran.

The three held talks with CWC member A. K. Antony, Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik and secretary in charge of the state Dipak Babariay.

Mr Chandy told Mr Sudheeran that it would be an injustice to deny seats to the three MLAs as they were facing only vague charges. He added that Mr Antony or Mr Sudheeran could lead the party in the elections and that he would campaign in all the 140 seats.

Ms Sonia was unable to solve the issue and decided to hold talks with the three leaders separately and together. Mr Antony was also included in the meeting along with screening committee chairman Mallikarjun Kharge.

In Kollam, Mr Chandy and Mr Chennithala rooted for Mahila Congress state president Bindu Krishna which was objected to by Mr Sudheeran as he was keen on fielding Mr Sooraj Ravi. Mr Sudheeran maintained that Ms Bindu Krishna was defeated in Chathannur Assembly and later in Attingal Parliament seats. Ms Shanimol Usman will contest from Aroor which the Congress was planning to give to the RSP.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story