People betting on results of key assembly segments in Karimnagar and Warangal

Warangal/Karimnagar: Many are betting on the election results of four key assembly segments -- Sircilla, Karimnagar, Palakurhty and Warangal East – the strong footholds for the ruling BRS party in erstwhile Karimnagar and Warangal districts.

Curiously, the betting is mainly on ruling BRS and Congress candidates K.T. Rama Rao and K.K. Mahendar in Sircilla, Errabelli Dayakar Rao and M. Yasheshwani in Palakurhty, Nannapuneni Narendar and Konda Surekha in Warangal East and between BJP and Congress candidates Bandi Sanjay Kumar and Purumalla Srinivas in Karimnagar assembly constituencies.

The betting is from around Rs 5,000 to Rs 25,000 between the common people and Rs 2 lakh to Rs 5 lakh between the second-rung leaders of various political parties.

IT minister and the BRS party working president KT Rama Rao contested for the fifth time from the Sircilla assembly constituency and is facing tough competition from Congress party candidate KK Mahendar Reddy and BJP candidate Rani Rudrama.

When some people in the Sircilla are betting on the victory of KTR for the regional development that took place under his leadership, others are betting on Mahendar Reddy. They say there is widespread sympathy to him over his defeat four consecutive times. This, together with a perceived wave of support for the Congress would ride him to victory, they add.

BC welfare minister Gangula Kamalakar contested for the fourth time from Karimnagar assembly constituency and faced a tough fight from the BJP candidate and Karimnagar MP Bandi Sanjay Kumar as also Congress candidate and Bommakal sarpanch Purumalla Srinivas.

In Karimnagar, some people are betting on the victory of Sanjay Kumar because of the massive following he has in the district. Some others are betting on the victory of Srinivas, since he was contesting for the first time. They say the six guarantees will take him to the victory.

Panchayat Raj minister Errabelli Dayakar Rao won the assembly polls five consecutive times -- three times from Wardhannapet and two times from Palakurthy.

He contested for the third time from Palakurthy assembly constituency this time, and faced tough competition from Congress candidate M Yashashwini Reddy.

Several people are betting on the victory of Dayakar Rao, saying the development that took place in the constituency will ensure his victory. Some others are betting on the victory of Yashashwini, saying the charity activities that she has taken up in the constituency and the present Congress wave will take her to victory.

BRS MLA Nannapuneni Narendar contested for the second time from the Warangal East assembly constituency and was facing a tough competition from former minister and Congress candidate Konda Surekha and BJP candidate Errabelli Pradeep Rao, the brother of panchayat raj minister Errabelli Dayakar Rao.

In Warangal East constituency, many people are betting on the victory of Konda Surekha, saying people are not believing in the BRS since it “betrayed the people with false promises.” Some others are betting on Narendar, saying he helped in enormous regional development which includes a 24- storied super specialty hospital.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story