Nation Politics 01 Sep 2016 Thiruvananthapuram: ...

Thiruvananthapuram: AICC forms 21-member PAC, KPCC to revamp

Published Sep 1, 2016, 6:42 am IST
Updated Sep 1, 2016, 7:46 am IST
KPCC president V. M. Sudheeran
 KPCC president V. M. Sudheeran

Thiruvananthapuram: The AICC has constituted the much-awaited 21- member high-power Political Affairs Committee of the KPCC to revamp the party structure. This was  announced by the AICC’s organising general secretary Janardan Dwivedi in New Delhi  on Wednesday evening. The one-line statement said Congress president Sonia Gandhi had approved the list.  KPCC president V. M. Sudheeran will chair the meeting of the committee. The members include Ramesh Chennithala, Oommen Chandy, K. Muraleedharan, P. C. Chacko, P. J. Kurien, K. C. Joseph, Thiruvanchur Radhakrishnan, K. V. Thomas, M. I. Shahnavas, K. Sudhakaran, K. C. Venugopal, Kodikunnil Suresh, V. D. Satheeshan, Benny Behanan, Shanimol Usman, T. N. Prathapan, P. C. Vishnunath and M. Liju. The only woman  to find a place in the list is Shanimol Usman who is senior to Mahila Congress state president Bindu Krishna.

Leaders like Chacko, Mullapally, Thomas and Kurian have been included directly by the AICC leadership.   The ‘A’ group has more representation with Chandy, Thiruvanchoor, Hassan, Joseph, Kodikunnil, Behanan, Prathapan and Vishnunath in the list.

Prathapan has been showing allegiance to Sudheeran for  the last few years. The prominent  ‘I’ group members are Muraleedharan, Chacko, Mullapally, Thomas, Satheeshan, Sudhakaran, Shanimol and Liju.  But the majority of them no longer support Chennithala and the group has more or less disintegrated.

The names of Muraleedharan and Satheeshan were not submitted by Chennithala when he held talks with Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi last week. While the ‘A’ group led by Chandy was united after the Assembly elections, the ‘I’ group led by Chennithala has been subdued after he became the Opposition Leader. It is to be seen  how many  in the  panel would stand firm against group activities and how many  youth leaders and women will get preference in the party revamp.



More From Politics