APSRTC not to hike fare of Dasara specials


AP State Road Transport Corporation will operate during Dasara festival 4,500 special buses from Hyderabad, Chennai, Bangalore and other places to 21 cities in Andhra Pradesh without collecting any extra fare.

Announcing this at a press conference here on Thursday, RTC managing director Ch. Dwaraka Tirumala Rao said 2,100 of these special buses will be operated before Dasara and 2,400 buses after the festival to clear the rush. The specials will run from September 29 to October 7.

The corporation MD said the buses will connect 21 cities and towns, including Hyderabad, Chennai and Bangalore, to places within AP like Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada, Kakinada, Bhimavaram, Amalapuram, Bhadrachalam, Rajahmundry, Tuni, Kurnool, Anantapur, Tirupati, Kadapa, Srisailam, Markapuram, Ongole and Nellore.

Tirumala Rao emphasised that special buses will charge normal fares this time so as not to burden passengers. He said 419 buses will run to Vijayawada from various places in view of the festivities at Durga Temple.

The RTC MD said APSRTC has introduced Unified Ticketing Solution to resolve change issues while issuing tickets. Passengers can pay for tickets through phone pay, google pay, QR code, credit and debit card swiping.

For convenience of passengers, reservation of seats has been permitted from 60 days in advance.

Next Story