Nation Other News 02 Sep 2016 AICC retains upper h ...

AICC retains upper hand in Political Affairs Committee for Kerala

Published Sep 2, 2016, 6:11 am IST
Updated Sep 2, 2016, 7:14 am IST
Ramesh Chennithala
 Ramesh Chennithala

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The AICC has retained the upper hand while announcing the 21-member Political Affairs Committee  of the KPCC  on Wednesday. The ball is now in the KPCC court to strengthen the party by revamping its structure. Though the panel consists of  both the faction members, the AICC has also included MPs who show their allegiance to it. Opposition Leader Ramesh Chennithala, former chief minister Oommen Chandy and KPCC president V. M. Sudheeran had handed over separate panels of their loyalists to Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi  two weeks ago.  

Though Chennithala who heads the ‘I’ group had given the name of his trusted lieutenant Joseph Vazhakkan,  he was  omitted.  Sudheeran’s panel  contained the names of both the factions to secure  his position. “The names of MPs like K. C. Venugopal (‘I’ group) and Kodikunnil Suresh (‘A’ group) were provided by Sudheeran, along with T. N. Prathapan’s. Also,  leaders like Kodikunnil, Shanimol Usman, P. J. Kurien, Mullapally Ramachandran, K. V. Thomas and P. C. Chacko have the support of the AICC leadership,” said a KPCC general secretary.

But when Chandy’s  group got its full panel approved, Chennithala is the loser as most of his panellists are working individually. Chandy also ensured a place for  his loyalist Benny Behanan  in  the panel after he had to part with his Thrikkakara Assembly seat to P. T. Thomas. Though the names of V. D. Satheeshan, K. Muraleedharan and K. C. Venugopal were  omitted by Chennithala,  they were included by the AICC leadership. “Though K. Sudhakaran officially belongs to the ‘I’ group, Chennithala is unhappy with his bid to cultivate his own supporters. M. Liju is also closely associated with Sudhakaran,”  said a top Congress leader.

Location: India, Kerala


More From Other News