Odisha: BJP maintains clear lead in Lok Sabha, Assembly polls

Naveen Patnaik’s dream to become country’s longest-serving CM unlikely to materialise
BHUBANESWAR: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in Odisha Legislative Assembly polls and the party, in all likelihood, is set to form the new government in the state.

As per the latest trends available, the party is leading in 76 seats followed by BJD in 56 seats. The Congress was leading in 11 while CPI was maintaining lead in one seat. The Independents were leading in two seats.

The majority mark in the 147-member Odisha Legislative Assembly is 74.

In Lok Sabha polls, the BJP which won eight seats in 2019 polls, was leading in 18 seats followed by BJP (2) and Congress (1).

The unprecedented performance of the saffron party now threatens the end of the 24 years’ rule of the Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal (BJD). A victory in the assembly polls would have given Naveen an opportunity to become the longest-serving chief minister of the country, surpassing the record of Pawan Chamling of Sikkim. Naveen was just 74 days away from the 24 years 165 days rule of Chamling.

All BJP stalwarts, including Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan (Sambalpur), party’s national vice president Baijayant Jay Panda (Kendrapara) and firebrand leader Aparajita Sarangi (Bhubaneswar) were leading in their respective parliamentary constituencies.

CM Naveen Patnaik who contested from Hinjli and Kantabanji assembly seats, was leading in the former. In Kantabanji, the BJP candidate was taking the lead, reports said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had single-handedly led the BJP campaign in Odisha.
( Source : Deccan Chronicle )
Next Story