Telangana Rashtra Samiti men hurl chairs, seek bigger role

Party workers object to district chief words.

Khammam: Telangana Rashtra Samiti Madhira Assembly Constituency meeting on Wednesday saw activists protesting against the party’s district chief.

The protesters broke chairs and raised slogans against TRS district president Budan Ali Baig. At one stage, nothing was audible with the activists’ shouts. Khammam MP Ponguleti Srinivasa Reddy and Telangana Seeds Development Corporation chairperson Kondabala Koteswara Rao tried to convince the cadre, but they could not be controlled. The activists were objecting to remarks by Mr Baig. The meeting was held to plan and prepare for the coming panchayat polls. TRS district president Baig said that the government has been implementing many schemes. People were praising Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao.

“Whatever the scheme launched by KCR, it is touching the hearts of the oppressed sections,” he said.

Responding to it, TRS leader Cheedirala Venkateswarlu said that the government should involve the party workers in placing and implementing the schemes. There is no information to the party leaders while launching the schemes in the villages and the activists are worrying lot with it.

Many of the activists extended their support to the argument of Venkateswarlu by saying that he reflected the agony of party activists in the constituency.

Baig said that KCR wanted to implement the schemes in apolitical manner to reach the program to the needy. “Because of it, the government employees had more say in it,” he said. While explaining, he said that the schemes were not meant for party activists coming from other parties. This irked the party leaders who shouted against Baig. They hurled the chairs into the air and raised slogans like 'Baig- down down".

MP Srinivasa Reddy said, “As a sons of Telangana, people from all parties extended support to the T-movement. Later, we joined into TRS by noticing the development schemes of KCR. Not only me, but also leaders from other political parties like Telugu Desam, Congress and CPI-M joined in TRS.”

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story