Anna University likely to get a new VC today

Sources from Anna University also revealed that the vehicle for the new vice-chancellor was asked to be kept ready.

Chennai: Nearly two-year long wait for the Anna University's new vice-chancellor is likely to end as the VC search committee headed by Justice V.S. Sirpurkar, former Judge, Supreme Court of India, is scheduled to interview six shortlisted candidates on Saturday.

The interview will take place at Raj Bhavan on Saturday. "The committee will submit the list of three candidates for VC's post on the same day and the appointment is also likely to be made on Saturday," sources said.

Sources from Anna University also revealed that the vehicle for the new vice-chancellor was asked to be kept ready.

Apart from four candidates in the university, the panel has shortlisted two candidates - one from IIT Madras and another one from IISc Bangalore for the interview.

Meanwhile, one of the six candidates called for the interview reportedly expressed his unwillingness to attend the interview to the VC search panel on Friday. Sources said the highly qualified professor is happy with continuing in his current position.

The two other members of the panel are retired IAS officer N.Sundaradevan and IIT Madras professor R.Gnanamoorthy.

The candidates vision for the university and how they will source funds for their proposed projects likely to play a key role in selecting the new vice-chancellor.

Of 170 applications received for the VC's post, the committee has eliminated 140 applications after three rounds. After ranking the 30 candidates, the committee has called six candidates for interview.

Anna University former Vice-Chancellor M.Rajaram has completed his tenure on May 26, 2016. Since then the university has been functioning without the Vice-Chancellor.

Some professors praised the convener committee, which managed the routine affairs of the university during the absence of the Vice-Chancellor.

"We experienced difficulties in getting signs from three members of the convener committee. But, so far, they ensured the smooth functioning of the university," professors said.

At present, the convener committee consists of three members - Sunil Paliwal, principal secretary, Department of Higher Education, K. Vivekanandan, Director of Technical Education and T.V. Geetha, Dean, College of Engineering, Guindy.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story