Nation Current Affairs 30 Jan 2019 10 N-E parties unite ...

10 N-E parties unite to oppose citizenship bill

Published Jan 30, 2019, 1:00 am IST
Updated Jan 30, 2019, 1:00 am IST
Janata Dal (United) logo
 Janata Dal (United) logo

Guwahati: In what is going to mount more pressure on Centre to scrap the controversial citizenship bill, ten political parties from Northeast and Janata Dal (United) here on Tuesday decided to intensify their efforts jointly to block the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016.

The political parties, several belonging to the BJP lead North East Democratic Alliance, resolved to oppose the bill together in larger interest of the people of Northeast.

Though, the meeting convened by Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma was attended by the representative and leaders of 11 political parties, prominent among them was Asom Gana Parishad, National Peoples Party, Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura, Naga Peoples Front, Mizo National Front and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party.



More From Current Affairs