Nation Current Affairs 28 Aug 2016 PM to honour babus f ...

PM to honour babus for implementing govt's priority programmes

Published Aug 28, 2016, 3:47 pm IST
Updated Aug 28, 2016, 3:47 pm IST
Selected bureaucrats will get the Prime Minister's awards on April 21, observed as Civil Services Day.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Photo: PTI)
 Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Photo: PTI)

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will honour civil servants of both the Centre and states for excellence in implementing NDA government's priority programmes like 'Start Up India/Stand Up India,' among others.

Five priority programmes – Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana, Deendayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana, Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana, Start Up India/ Stand Up India and e-National Agriculture Market (National e-Mandi) – have been chosen for this purpose by the Personnel Ministry.


The Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana is for extending the coverage of irrigation and improving water use efficiency for agriculture and the Deendayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana aims at rural electrification.

The Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana provides crop insurance and the Start Up India/Stand Up India is for fostering entrepreneurship.

The e-National Agriculture Market is a pan-India electronic trading portal which networks the existing Agricultural Produce Market Committee mandis to create a unified national market for agricultural commodities.


Selected bureaucrats will get the Prime Minister's awards on April 21, observed as Civil Services Day, for their contribution to effective implementation of these schemes, the Ministry said.

In addition to this, the awards shall also be given to organisations of central or state governments and districts for innovations in environment conservation, disaster management, water conservation, energy, education and health, women and child centric initiatives etc, it said.

The awarded district or organisation will be given an incentive of Rs. 10 lakh which would be utilised for implementation of project or bridging resource gaps in any area of public welfare.


The Centre gives away "Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Public Administration" annually to acknowledge and reward the extraordinary and innovative works done by civil servants or organisations of the central and state governments.

A two-member team of officers of central government, not below the rank of Deputy Secretary, will conduct 'on the spot study' of the implementation of priority programmes.

An expert committee chaired by Secretary, Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances will consider the spot study reports and further shortlist the districts and organisations before making recommendations to the empowered committee chaired by the Cabinet Secretary.


The empowered committee would then make its recommendations to the Prime Minister for final selection of awardees.

Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi