BRS moves separate no-confidence motion, AIMIM backs it

Hyderabad: The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) on Wednesday moved a separate no-confidence motion (NCM) against the Narendra Modi government in the Lok Sabha on the issue of Manipur violence. All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi extended his support to BRS’s motion.

The BRS, which is not part of the BJP-led NDA or Opposition coalition INDIA, decided to move a separate motion on this issue despite lacking adequate numbers. While a motion requires the support of at least 50 MPs, the BRS has only nine MPs in the Lok Sabha.

In another development, the BRS on Wednesday issued a whip asking all its Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members to vote against the Bill to replace the ordinance on Delhi services, whenever it is tabled in the upper and lower houses. The BRS has seven MPs in the Rajya Sabha.

Party sources said that BRS floor leader in Lok Sabha, Nama Nageswara Rao, served a notice to the Secretary General of Lok Sabha, seeking to move the no-confidence motion, on the directions of party president and Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao.

Sources said that despite lacking adequate numbers, Rao took the decision to send a clear message that the BRS maintains equidistance from both the BJP-led NDA and Congress-led INDIA. The Chief Minister also directed Nageswara Rao to seek the support of AIMIM for the motion. Following a meeting, AIMIM chief Owaisi signed the notice served by BRS.

The BRS also issued a whip to all its MPs, in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, asking them to be present in the House for the next three days, without fail, until the voting on the Delhi Services Bill is completed.

It may be recalled that AAP chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal met K. Chandrashekar Rao in Hyderabad on May 27 to seek BRS’ support against the ordinance brought in by the Centre on the Delhi Services issue. Rao extended his support to the AAP government in Delhi and announced that the BRS would vote against the Bill in Parliament.

Next Story