The Indian Premier League 2020

Nation Current Affairs 26 Jan 2020 TRS crushes oppn, em ...

TRS crushes oppn, emerges stronger

Published Jan 26, 2020, 4:12 am IST
Updated Jan 26, 2020, 8:35 am IST
Congress puts up better performance when compared to the BJP by winning more municipal seats.
TRS logo
 TRS logo

Hyderabad: The Municipal election results have proved that neither Congress nor BJP can claim to be an alternative to TRS in Telangana.

For all their lofty claims during electioneering, both parties had to eat humble pie as the ruling party was way above every other contender.  It has been so dismal that the opposition parties failed to achieve a double-figure mark in the municipalities.


In the recent byelections, TRS gave a shock to  TPCC President and MP N. Uttam Kumar Reddy by winning the Huzurnagar Assembly seat with record majority. It was an encore in the municipal elections, where the TRS won the Huzurnagar Municipality.

Out of total 28 wards in Huzurnagar Municipality TRS won 21 while Congress had to rest content with six.

Congress MP A. Revanth Reddy also failed to achieve anything in his own Kodangal municipality where of the 12 wards, TRS clinched 10 leavi- ng the other two to Congress.

CLP leader Malllu Bharti Vikramarka , Congress MLAs D Sridharbabu and  Jaggareddy have also failed to script wins in their respective municipalities. Madhira of Mallu Bhatti , Manthani of Sridharbabu and Sangareddy of Jaggareddy  were won by TRS.  Congress won 6 Municipalities but some of them with the help of ex officio members.


Meanwhile, the BJP has shown better performance in municipal corporations than in municipalities.  BJP won only three municipalities.

In Nizamabad and Adilabad it gave close fight to TRS. Compared to BJP, the Congress has shown a better performance in the municipal elections by notching up double the tally garnered by BJP. Congress did not win even a single ward in about 10 municipalities and BJP did not win a single ward in about 40. TRS had a clean sweep in five municipalities.

Finance minister T Harish Rao has again proved his leadership. In the erstwhile Medak district, TRS has won all the municipalities. In Sangareddy constituency Congress MLA Jaggareddy challenged the TRS to win. Harish Rao especially concentrated on these municipalities. It won Sangareddy, Sadasivpet and other municipalities also.


Location: India, Telangana, Hyderabad