74th Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra80229286942849 Tamil Nadu2869415762235 Delhi2633410315708 Gujarat19119130111190 Rajasthan100847359218 Uttar Pradesh97335648257 Madhya Pradesh89965878384 West Bengal73032912366 Karnataka4835169357 Bihar4598223329 Andhra Pradesh4250256573 Haryana3597120924 Telangana32901627113 Jammu and Kashmir3142104835 Odisha247814819 Punjab2415204347 Assam19894434 Kerala170071215 Uttarakhand115328610 Jharkhand7642975 Chhatisgarh6781892 Tripura6221730 Himachal Pradesh3691636 Chandigarh3022225 Goa126570 Manipur124110 Puducherry90330 Nagaland8000 Arunachal Pradesh3710 Meghalaya33131 Mizoram1710 Sikkim200
Nation Current Affairs 24 Oct 2019 Maharashtra poll res ...

Maharashtra poll result 2019: BJP, Sena win amid Cong-NCP resurgence

Published Oct 24, 2019, 7:56 am IST
Updated Oct 25, 2019, 12:51 am IST
BJP wins 99, Shiv Sena 55, Congress 35, NCP 49 and Independents have won 12 seats as per Election Commission.
(Photo: PTI)
 (Photo: PTI)

Mumbai: The Bharatiya Janata Party has retained Maharashtra with ally Shiv Sena but its performance has been a downer at the face of a resurgent Congress-Nationalist Congress Party Opposition.

The ruling alliance has got over 160 seats in the 288-member Assembly. As per the Election Commission, the BJP won 99 seats and was leading in 9 seats, which is below the 122 it secured in 2014. The Shiv Sena bagged 55 seats, Congress 35 and the National Congress Party 49.


Sensing its upper hand over 'big brother' BJP, the Shiv Sena has demanded a ’50:50 formula’ in the power set-up.

Read | ‘BJP-Shiv Sena to form govt,’ says Sanjay Raut, refers to ‘50-50’ formula

However, the Opposition alliance has bagged nearly 85 seats and NCP with 49 seats has emerged the 'big brother' in this equation. 

In the 2014 elections, the BJP, Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP won 122, 63, 42 and 41 seats respectively.

Read | Aaditya, the first Thackeray to contest, rides Shiv Sena wave to win

The BJP’s not-so-good performance had various factors which are as follows:

Maratha reservation: There was a sentiment of distrust towards the Fadnavis-led BJP government which had proposed 16 per cent reservation for Marathas in government jobs and education.

Tiff over seat-sharing: Ahead of the polls, 26 Shiv Sena corporators and around 300 party workers sent their resignations to party chief Uddhav Thackeray over the seat-sharing in Mumbai. BJP candidates in these Sena strongholds didn’t get the desired votes.

Abrogation of Article 370 did not work: The Maharasthra elections were held exactly 10 weeks after Kashmir was stripped of its special status. This was a major poll pitch for Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah. Along with this, other broad national issues too failed to get the BJP votes. The Congress-NCP, however, stuck to local issues in their campaigns.

The rise in prices of onion and fuel, joblessness, loss of farm produce due to floods, and the general impacts of a slowing economy were issues the Opposition highlighted during elections.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis is leading the ruling combine along with Shiv Sena debutant Aaditya Thackeray. He is also seen as a contender for the post of deputy CM. Aaditya was pitted against Bahujan Republican Socialist Party’s (BRSP) Suresh Mane, who was contesting on an NCP ticket from Worli seat.

Read | The 2nd CM to run full term in Maha, Fadnavis readies his next game plan

Key poll issues for the BJP included the abrogation of Article 370 in Kashmir, while the opposition was attempting to bring back the focus on local issues like drought, floods and economic slowdown.

The state had total 8,98,39,600 voters, including 1,06,76,013 in the age group of 18 to 25 years.

Location: India, Maharashtra