Knowledge economic zone for capital region

CM directs collectors to plan KEZs in all districts of state.

Vijayawada: The Government of Andhra Pradesh and the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) will work together on a Knowledge Economic Zone (KEZ) to be established in Amaravati capital location. The KEZ will begin operations from June 2016. The first phase of the KEZ will be ready by 2017 in an area of 10 acres. By 2019, the KEZ will spread to 100 acres. A delegation from CII gave a presentation to CM N. Chandrababu Naidu during the collectors conference in Vijayawada.

On this occasion, the CM directed the district collectors to prepare an action plan for setting up KEZs in each district of the state with assistance from Harvard University and the World Economic Forum. Secretary (Energy) Ajay Jain said his department is working towards achieving single digit in transmission and distribution losses. He informed that And-hra Pradesh is first state in the country to complete installation of 186 lakh LED bulbs. The district collectors were directed to complete electrification of the remaining 4.61 lakh households by March 2016.

During a presentation on AP Fiber Grid, officials pointed out that the average Internet Speed in India is 2.5 MBPS, while internationally it is 10MBPS. The government is working towards providing 10 MBPS Internet connections for only Rs 150, officials informed. Under phase 1, the government will draw cables for 22,500 kms. Each household will receive Internet, telephone and cable TV with a common box. The Chief Minister said the union government is impressed with the state’s fiber grid project.

“If necessary, Andhra Pradesh can become a partner in the Digital India initiative,” he added. He directed the district collectors to work towards the revival of sick units. Chief secretary S.P. Tucker asked the district collectors to create a vertical for revival of MSMEs. In order to strengthen the agri-business sector in the state, the Chief Minister asked district collectors to focus on horticulture for Rayalaseema and fisheries for the coastal belt.

Deputy Chief Ministers K.E. Krishna Murthy, Nimmakayala Chinarajappa, ministers Acchan Naidu, Devineni Umamaheswara Rao, Kamineni Srinivas, Palle Raghunatha Reddy, Ayyanna Patrudu, Ganta Srinivasa Rao, Kollu Ravindra, Peethala Sujatha, Paritala Sunitha, Mrunalini, Bojjala Gopala Krishna Reddy, Manikyala Rao and several officials were present at the meeting.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story