103rd Day Of Lockdown

Maharashtra2000641080828671 Tamil Nadu107001605921450 Delhi97200682563004 Gujarat35398254141926 Uttar Pradesh2655418154773 Telangana2231211537288 Karnataka215499246335 West Bengal2123114166736 Rajasthan1953215640447 Andhra Pradesh176998008218 Haryana1654812257260 Madhya Pradesh1460411234598 Bihar11457848888 Assam9800632814 Jammu and Kashmir82465143127 Odisha7316535333 Punjab56683989149 Kerala4594243626 Chhatisgarh3065241414 Uttarakhand2791190937 Jharkhand2339160512 Tripura140110931 Manipur13166390 Goa11984783 Himachal Pradesh9796179 Puducherry73930112 Nagaland5351820 Chandigarh4593956 Arunachal Pradesh252751 Mizoram1601230 Sikkim101520 Meghalaya50421
Nation Current Affairs 23 Apr 2019 Phase 3: Stage is se ...

Phase 3: Stage is set for largest phase of Lok Sabha polls today

Published Apr 23, 2019, 1:44 am IST
Updated Apr 23, 2019, 3:38 am IST
Phase 3 test for Amit Shah, Rahul Gandhi, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Azam Khan.
BJP national chief Amit Shah addresses during a press meet ahead of the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Kolkata on Monday. The fate of BJP contestant from Gandhinagar seat will also be decided today.  (PTI)
 BJP national chief Amit Shah addresses during a press meet ahead of the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Kolkata on Monday. The fate of BJP contestant from Gandhinagar seat will also be decided today. (PTI)

New Delhi: The third phase of polling on April 23 for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections will witness the largest number of 117 seats going for vote, where BJP president Amit Shah, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, Samajwadi Party leader Mulayam Singh Yadav and NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule will be some of the prominent leaders in the fray.

In all, 15 states will go to polls in this phase, including Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh and Odisha.


This phase will also see 10 seats of western Uttar Pradesh going for polls, consisting of the Yadav strongholds of Mainpuri, Badaun, Rampur, Sambhal and Firozabad. Also, the whole of Gujarat and Kerala will be covered during the third round of polling.

Kerala, which has 20 Lok Sabha seats, will be covered in this phase, where the most watched seat will be Wayanad, from where the Congress chief Rahul Gandhi is contesting. He had chosen this as his second seat apart from his sitting seat of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh.

Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav will contest from Mainpuri, while the party’s Muslim face and controversial leader Azam Khan will be in fight against his bitter rival and BJP’s candidate Jaya Prada. The film actress has been a two-time MP from Rampur and Mr Khan, who has been an MLA from Rampur multiple times, has made it a battle of prestige, and has been in trouble due to his controversial remarks made against Ms Jaya Prada.

Mulayam Singh Yadav has said that it would be his last election and therefore Mainpuri could witness an emotional battle, as it has been traditionally a SP stronghold.

The SP patriarch’s nep-hew, Dharmendra Yadav, is seeking a re-election from the party’s pocketborough Badaun. He has been a three-time MP from there and has been winning the seat since 2004.

In Maharashtra, 14 seats will witness polling across various regions of Marathawada, Konkan, western Maharashtra and Khandesh. Some of the significant seats of the state in the third phase are NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s strongholds of Baramati and Madha. While Pune, Satara, Sangli, Aurangabad and Ahmadnagar too are some of the other important seats which will go to polls on April 23. Ms Sule will seek re-election from Baramati, a family stronghold, for the third time.

The 14 seats of Uttar Kannada region of Karnataka will also vote in this phase and with this the entire state will be wrapped up as 14 seats of Dakshin Kannada region had voted in the second phase on April 18. There are 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka.

Goa with two seats will also be covered during the third pase of polling. Apart from this, all the 26 Lok Sabha seats of Gujarat will also go for polls.

Keep yourself updated on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 with our round-the-clock coverage -- breaking news, updates, analyses et all. Happy reading.

Location: India, Delhi, New Delhi