YSRC, TD, BJP candidates file papers for MLC elections

Visakhapatnam: Candidates nominated by the ruling YSRC, TD and BJP filed their papers for the Srikakulam, Vizianagaram and Visakhapatnam graduates constituency in the legislative council polls here on Wednesday.

YSRC candidate Seetharaju Sudhakar, who is also the chairman of Brahmin Corporation, offered special puja at the TTD temple in Rushikonda in the presence of regional party coordinator Y.V. Subba Reddy, district party president Panchakarala Ramesh, deputy chief ministers Mutyala Naidu and Rajanna Dora, minister Botsa Satyanarayana, mayor Kumari, MLAs Karanam Dharmasri and Tippala Nagi Reddy, MLC Vamsi Yadav and former minister Muttamsetti Srinivasa.

The leaders went in a rally from the temple to the collectorate where Sudhakar filed three sets of nominations. “The good work done by the YSRC government will fetch us a good majority in the elections,’’ said Subbareddy.

BJP leader PVN Madhav was accompanied by Rajya Sabha member GVL Narasimha Rao, BJP state president Somu Veerraju, former MLA Vishnu Raju etc. Madhav also filed three sets of nominations. Earlier, a rally was taken out from the BJP office in Lawson’s Bay colony to the collector's office.

Telugu Desam leaders also took out a rally from their party office to the collectorate. Party candidate Vepada Chiranjeevi Rao filed three sets of papers in the presence of the TD state president Atchennaidu and former minister Kondru Murali.

The notification for elections was issued on Feb 16 and the last day for filing papers is Thursday (Feb 23). So far, 18 nominations were filed for the north Andhra graduate constituency. On Wednesday alone, 12 candidates filed their papers.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story