Nation Current Affairs 23 Jan 2020 Three capitals Bills ...

Three capitals Bills referred to select commitee

Published Jan 23, 2020, 2:02 am IST
Updated Jan 23, 2020, 3:40 pm IST
Blow to Jagan’s plan to move capital to Vizag soon
N. Chandrababu Naidu.
 N. Chandrababu Naidu.

Vijayawada: AP Legislative Council chairman M.A. Shareef on Wednesday referred to a select committee the controversial Bills on three capitals and the repeal of AP Capital Region Development Authority.

The move is a blow to Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy’s plans to move the administrative capital to Visakhapatnam at the earliest. The select committee will have at least three months to make its recommendations after which only the legislative procedure for three capitals will resume.


Mr Shareef, a staunch loyalist of TD chief N. Chandrababu Naidu, announced that he was using his discretionary powers to refer the Bills to the select committee. He also declared that the proposal moved by the TD seeking that the Bills be referred to the select committee was not in strict accordance with the Rules of AP Legislative Council.  

“As per rules, these  Bills cannot be referred to the select committee,” he said much to the delight of ruling party members, but he immediately announced that he would refer it to the select committee using his discretionary powers.


In his soliloquy delivered in the House which heard him with rapt attention, he explained the dichotomy he experienced during the past two days. “There are some tense moments,” he said and added that the government had extended its support to him to run the business in special conditions.

The chairman also announced that the BJP and MLCs belonging to PD Front had made it clear that the TD can’t press for the select committee as they haven’t followed the rules.

Earlier, Finance Minister B. Rajendranath Reddy objected to the TD demand for select committee as they didn’t move a resolution immediately after the Bill was taken into consideration. The chairman initially said the TD members were not aware of the Bills being taken for consideration as there was confusion over discussion under rule 71.


He later said that TD member Ashok Babu had come to him and submitted the proposal seeking the select committee. He even admitted that there were procedural  lapses. The House witnessed pandemonium after the announcement with ruling party members, most of whom ministers, running into the well. Some climbed onto the tables and chairs of the staff and others rushed to the Chair and tore papers on his table.

There was a scuffle between the ruling party and opposition members. Minister Vellampalli Srinivas tried to block the chairman from moving out of his chair, but TD member Rajendra Prasad pushed him.


Meanwhile, Nara Lokesh started filming the scenes on his mobile camera. Technically, the House was not adjourned and the members are prohibited from filming.

An angry Irrigation Minister Anil Kumar Yadav rushed towards Lokesh and yelled at him. Minister Kannababu tried to reason with Lokesh that his act was wrong. Sensing trouble, the TD members pulled Anil away and cordoned off Lokesh. When security personnel tried to take Lokesh’s mobile, he shouted at them and forced them to leave the place.