Telangana plans to launch Telugu film awards

Telangana government constitutes new committee.

Hyderabad: The Telangana government has initiated steps to present its own awards for Telugu films every year. In undivided AP, the Nandi Awards used to be presented on Ugadi every year. But they were stopped after bifurcation of the state.

The Telangana government on Wednesday constituted a committee to recommend a suitable name for these awards besides finalising the modalities for selection.

Minister for cinematography Talasani Srinivas Yadav said, "The awards to be presented by the Telangana government are meant for the entire Telugu film industry and not Andhra or Telangana films. Hyderabad, which is the capital of Telangana state, is the centre for the Telugu film industry and as such all Telugu films are eligible to compete for our awards."

Though the committee has been asked to recommend names for these awards, sources said the names of "Kakatiya" and "Yadadri" are under consideration of the government.

Interestingly, the TS government has given equal representation to members from both Andhra and Telangana in the eight-member committee. While three are from Telangana ? P. Ram Mohan Rao and K. Murali Mohan, the president and secretary of Telangana Film Chamber of Commerce, along with noted director N. Shandkar ?, the Andhra region is represented by Thammareddy Bharadwaj, M. Shyam Prasad Reddy and Suresh Kondeti. Mr K.V. Ramana Chary, advisor to Telangana government has been appointed as chairman and I&PR commissioner Navin Mittal has been appointed as convenor of the committee.

Though the AP government is yet to revive the Nandi Awards after bifurcation of the state, there are chances that best films, actors and technicians of the Telugu film industry will have the opportunity to secure awards from governments of both AP and TS.

"We have no objection if AP also decides to give Nandi Awards to the Telugu film industry. We will give our own awards on behalf of the Telangana government," Mr Yadav added.

Thammareddy, N. Shankar and Shyam Prasad Reddy, who are in the TS panel, had headed the Nandi Awards committee earlier in undivided AP. Surprisingly, personalities like Dasari Narayana Rao, D. Suresh Babu and others did not figure in the TS list.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story