Nation Current Affairs 19 Nov 2018 R Krishniah gets Mir ...

R Krishniah gets Miryalaguda Assembly

Published Nov 19, 2018, 1:42 am IST
Updated Nov 19, 2018, 1:42 am IST
R Krishniah
 R Krishniah

Hyderabad: In a surprise move, the Congress high command nominated BC leader R. Krishniah from the Miryalaguda Assembly constituency. 

Mr Krishnaiah’s name was contained in its final list of six candidates released late on Sunday night.

Senior Congress leader and former minister K. Jana Reddy had reportedly lobbied hard to get the seat allotted to his son Raghuveer Reddy or to a family member. He had even gone to Delhi to press his case.

Despite this, the Congress high command nominated Mr Krishniah. Sources said the party sprang the surprise keeping in view the BC voters in the state. Mr Krishnaiah is a former legislator from the LB Nagar Assembly constituency and is known as a backward classes leader.

The decision may also shock the Telugu Desam as he won  a TD ticket in 2014. The others on the Congress list released on Sunday were: Mr Juvvadi Narsingh Rao (Koratla), Mr Suresh Kumar Shetkar (Narayankhed), Mr Kasani Gnaneshwar Midiraj (Secunderabad), Mr Vamanagiri Krishna (Narayanpet), R. Krishniah (Miryalaguda) and Paban Kumar Reddy (Devarkadra).

With this the Congress has announced all the 94 candidates. The last date for filing nominations ends on Monday, and the party will now focus on pacifying the rebels and to get the Congress leaders who have filed their nominations without authorisation to withdraw from the contest. 

Location: India, Telangana, Hyderabad


More From Current Affairs