Four Congress Ministers Express Displeasure Over MLC Nomination In Karnataka

BENGALURU: Four Ministers of the State Government in Karnataka have come together to express their displeasure over the reported nomination of Sudham Das, a former bureaucrat, to the Upper House (Legislative Council).

In a joint letter to president of All India Congress Committee (AICC) Mallikarjun Kharge Ministers-Dr G. Parameshwar (Home), K.H. Muniyappa (Food and Civil Supplies), H.C. Mahadevappa (Social Welfare) and R.B. Thimmapur (Excise) brought to his notice that Sudham Das joined the Congress party a few months back and his contribution for building the party or for electioneering in the recent Assembly election is almost nil.

On Sudham Das, the Ministers said, he served in Enforcement Directorate and abruptly resigned a few years back and went on to become Information Commissioner in Karnataka and in March this year, he resigned as Information Commissioner to join the Congress party.

They said, “We strongly oppose considering such persons and request you to drop this, if it is under consideration” and wanted Kharge to consider persons who have relentlessly worked for decades in the party and loyal soldiers of the party for the Upper House.

They stated that “We are of the considered opinion that we must be taken into confidence before finalizing the names for the nominations to the Upper House. So far, neither the State leaders nor the high command leaders discussed the matter of nomination to the Upper House and we feel terribly let down.”

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story