BRS MLAs Tense About CM Releasing First Candidates List

Sitting legislators are conducting meetings as a show of strength in their respective constituencies

Warangal: With speculations rife in political circles that Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao will announce the first list of BRS candidates for the forthcoming assembly elections within two days, some sitting ruling party MLAs of erstwhile Warangal and Karimnagar districts are tense.

Sitting legislators, especially those facing controversies and competition from leaders within the party, are worried whether or not their names will be included in the list.

In erstwhile Warangal district, Station Ghanpur MLA Thatikonda Rajaiah has faced allegations of sexual harassment from his own party’s Janakipuram village sarpanch Navya. Rajaiah also has differences with former deputy chief minister and MLC Kadiyam Srihari. Fearing that he may not get a ticket this time, Rajaiah has sought divine intervention by conducting Rajya Shyamala Yagam at the famous Sri Bhadrakali Temple.

In Jangaon constituency, sitting legislator Muttireddy Yadagiri Reddy is facing allegations of land grabbing from his daughter T. Bhavani Reddy. Many public representatives from Jangaon district have openly announced that they will not support Yadagiri Reddy. Afraid over his name not being included in the candidates’ list, he is lobbying hard with the party leadership.

In Mahabubabad district, MLA Shankar Naik is involved in several disputes. So much so, the party leadership has warned him. He is facing severe competition for the ticket from tribal welfare minister Satyavathi Rathod and MP Malothu Kavitha, who want to contest from Mahabubabad assembly segment.

In Warangal East constituency, legislator Nannapuneni Narendar is facing competition from MLC Baswaraju Saraiah and city mayor Gundu Sudharani. In Bhupalpally, sitting MLA Gandra Venkataramana Reddy fears that he may be replaced by former assembly speaker and MLC Sirikonda Madhusudhana Chary.

In erstwhile Karimnagar district, Vemulawada legislator Chennamneni Ramesh Babu is steeped in a citizenship row. Key BRS leaders Chelmada Laxmi Narasimha Rao and A. Manohar Reddy are trying to replace him.

In Ramagundam, MLA Korakanti Chander Patel is facing allegations of cheating unemployed youth, promising them jobs in Ramagundam Fertilizer Company Limited (RFCL). There are also charges of irregularities against him in recruitment of contract employees in the newly established medical college at Ramagundam.

Sitting MLAs Sunke Ravi Shankar in Choppadandi, Rasamayee Balakishan in Manakondur, and S. Sanjay Kumar in Jagtial are facing allegations from leaders within the BRS who are aspiring to replace them in allotment of tickets.

Thus, sitting legislators are conducting meetings as a show of strength in their respective constituencies. They are also intensely lobbying and leaving no stone unturned to get their names included in the first list.

( Source : Deccan Chronicle. )
Next Story