Hyderabad: The High Court building, which has seen several landmark judgments being delivered, will celebrate its centenary on April 20. The iconic building, which became functional on April 20, 1919, has seen judges order murder cases against cops involved in encounter killings, strike down Muslim reservation Bills and striking down sentences against the accused in the sensational Tsunduru Dalit massacre.
The construction commenced on April 15, 1915, and was completed on March 31, 1919. On April 20, 1920, the High Court building was inaugurated by the seventh Nizam Mir Osman Ali Khan.
The building, which stands on the southern bank of the Musi River, was built in red and white stones in Saracenic style by Nizam VII Mir Osman Ali Khan.
According to historians, the plan was drawn up by Shankar Lal of Jaipur, while the local engineer who executed the design was Mehar Ali Fazil, and chief engineer Nawab Khan Bahadur Mirza Akbar Baig.
While digging the foundation for the High Court, ruins of the Qutb Shahi palaces, namely Hina Mahal and Nadi Mahal, were unearthed.
After its construction, a silver model of the High Court, with a silver key, was presented to the Nizam VII Mir Osman Ali Khan by the Judiciary during its Silver Jubilee Celebrations in 1936. The facsimile of the building was perfectly carved in a thick sheet of silver weighing about 300 kg.
The model is now in the Nizam’s Museum in Purani Haveli.
The main building, which was built to accommodate six judges, was extended as per requirements. It now consists of a huge library, an advocates’ hall, and a conference hall for the judges.
The Registry of the High Court on Tuesday announced that the celebration will begin at 5 pm on April 20 and will take place on the building’s premises....